The Federal Ocean Acidification Research and Monitoring Act of 2009 (FOARAM Act; 33 U.S.C. Chapter 50, Sec. 3701-3708) directed the Subcommittee on Ocean Science and Technology (SOST) to create an Interagency Working Group on Ocean Acidification (IWG-OA). The IWG-OA was chartered by SOST in October 2009 and includes representatives from the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA), National Science Foundation (NSF), Bureau of Ocean Energy Management (BOEM), Department of State (DOS), Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA), U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service (USFWS), U.S. Geological Survey (USGS), U.S. Navy, U.S. Department of Agriculture, National Parks Service, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory of the U.S. Department of Energy, and the Smithsonian Institution. NOAA chairs the group, with vice-chairs from NSF and NASA. The agencies represented on the IWG-OA have mandates for research and/or management of resources and ecosystems likely to be impacted by ocean acidification. The group meets regularly to coordinate ocean acidification activities across the Federal government to fulfill the goals of the FOARAM Act.

Participating Agencies

US Department of State      Nasa


NOAA Logo      National Science Foundation


Boemre      USGS


Navy      EPA Logo